Department of Foreign Languages

Prospective Faculty 

PACKET DEADLINE FOR NEXT SELECTION BOARD: 26 OCT 2020
The next board will choose officers to start graduate school in August 2022

TEACH - West Point Click here! 

If you are a military officer seeking a rotating faculty position within the Department of Foreign Languages, use the link for TEACH (https://teach.westpoint.edu/) to initiate your application and begin the process of joining our team.

This takes you to a common application used by all departments at West Point, with additional application requirements for the departments in which you express interest.  This online application system is CAC-enabled and does not require a username and password.  If you have any specific questions about TEACH, please contact MAJ Kathy Nowak at kathy.nowak@westpoint.edu 

 

Thank you for your interest in teaching in the Department of Foreign Languages! We are constantly searching for top-quality Army Officers with extensive knowledge of foreign languages and cultures to teach and share their experiences with the Cadets at USMA.  We believe that knowing a foreign language is a vital part of understanding other cultures and peoples.  Our instructors help to prepare future Officers to lead Soldiers no matter where in the world the Army sends them.

For the Faculty Search Period with a deadline of 26 October 2020, we are specifically looking for instructors of Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Persian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. Those officers would start graduate school, if necessary, during the Summer of 2022, with a follow-on assignment in the Department of Foreign Languages at West Point, beginning o/a 1 July 2024. Direct Hires would begin o/a 1 July 2022 (see the FAQ portion of this website for ACS and Direct Hire tour lengths).

Does this sound exciting to you?


Please feel free to contact the following officers regarding your language of interest:

Arabic – MAJ Kathy Nowak, kathy.nowak@westpoint.edu
Chinese – LTC Justin Fincham, justin.fincham@westpoint.edu
French – MAJ Christopher Campbell, christopher.campbell@westpoint.edu
German – MAJ Mark Kloiber, mark.kloiber@westpoint.edu
Persian – CPT Ryan Herring, ryan.herring2@westpoint.edu
Portuguese – MAJ James Isakson, james.isakson@westpoint.edu
Russian – MAJ Kostyantyn Kotov, kostyantyn.kotov@westpoint.edu
Spanish – LTC Ricardo Fregoso, ricardo.fregoso@westpoint.edu

In order to teach in the Department of Foreign Languages (DFL) an Officer must:
   •    be in the grade of O3 or above (primary focus on YGs 2014, 2015 and 2016)
   •    be a career course graduate
   •    be Company Grade Key Development (KD) complete (NLT start of Graduate School)
   •    possess the aptitude to teach one or more of the languages within the DFL, based on your DLPT score (2/2 or higher) and a candidate interview
   •    possess at least a master’s degree in the language being taught

Graduate Study concentrations such as Area Studies may only be considered on a case-by-case basis and approved by the DFL Chain of Command.

You can apply to join the rotating military faculty through the Army Advanced Civil Schooling (ACS) program (Master’s or, in some cases, Ph.D.) or through a direct fill assignment (if you already possess at least a Master’s Degree and display proficiency in the language).  If selected to teach in DFL, the Army will grant you a fully paid Scholarship to earn a graduate degree from a U.S. University of your choice (concentrating in literature, linguistics, or second language acquisition).  Master’s Degree candidates must complete their degree in one or two years; Ph.D. candidates have three years. 
Upon degree completion, rotating military faculty members will serve a three-year utilization tour teaching foreign language at USMA. Two-year utilization tours are by exception only for ACS program hires.


Important note for those concerned about their timeline:

Per MILPER Message 19-312, officers may opt out of the promotion board of each grade twice if they have not completed “career progression requirements” prior to the promotion board. 

This means you may delay your promotion board up to two years if you have not completed KD time for that rank.  For example, if you come to teach at West Point and will leave as a major without two years of time prior to your lieutenant colonel board, you may delay that board up to two years to allow you to complete your KD time.

Please reference MILPER Message 19-312 and discuss with your branch manager for further details.