Episode 7 Show Notes

Episode 7: The Dean's Book Club and Claudia Rankine's Citizen
BG Jebb bio: https://www.westpoint.edu/academics/dean
MAJ Harris bio: https://www.westpoint.edu/social-sciences/profile/brian_harris

To continue the conversation, attend the Dean's Book Club events, the next of which is on Teams on 27 October from 1235-1335, conveniently hosted by Sosh's own Dr. Hugh Liebert, MAJ Renee Sanjuan, and MAJ Rex Steele. Also, consider signing up for MAJ Harris's course next semester; more about that in the show notes here.

Episode 6 Show Notes

Episode 6: Elections, Polling and RealClearPolitics with Tom Bevan (Recorded on 6 October 2020)
Tom Bevan bio: https://www.realclearpolitics.com/authors/tom_bevan/ 
Follow the election, and check out the latest polls at https://www.realclearpolitics.com/.

Episode 5 Show Notes

Episode 5: Command in the DMZ with LTC Sean Morrow
LTC Morrow bio: https://www.westpoint.edu/social-sciences/profile/sean_morrow 
Show notes with links to his article and recommendations.

Episode 4 Show Notes

Episode 4: Summer Reading with August Cole
August Cole: http://www.augustcole.com 
Show notes with links to the books recommendations.

Episode 3 Show Notes

Episode 3: Race and Policing in America
CPT Brian Harris: https://www.westpoint.edu/social-sciences/profile/brian_harris
MAJ Steve Taylor: https://www.westpoint.edu/social-sciences/profile/stephen_taylor
Show notes with the Domestic Affairs Forum flyer and the books/articles they discuss.

Episode 2 Show Notes

Episode 2: Tocqueville’s Democracy in America
Dr. Hugh Liebert: https://www.westpoint.edu/social-sciences/profile/hugh_liebert
MAJ Macks Colella: https://www.westpoint.edu/social-sciences/profile/mackenzie_colella
Show notes with the pictures they discuss.

Episode 1 Show Notes

Episode 1: US-China Relations and the Coronavirus
Elizabeth Economy: https://www.cfr.org/expert/elizabeth-c-economy

1:31: Dr. Economy introduction

2:45: Coronavirus early take: https://www.cfr.org/blog/hydra-vs-headless-horseman-china-and-united-states

6:12: US-China back and forth on expelling journalists

8:57: Recent flood of US-China reports

CNAS: https://www.cnas.org/publications/reports/rising-to-the-china-challenge

Aspen: https://www.aspeninstitute.org/publications/the-struggle-for-power-u-s-china-relations-in-the-21st-century/

Sosh’s Senior Conference Monograph: https://ssi.armywarcollege.edu/senior-conference-55-the-emerging-environment-in-the-indo-pacific-region-drivers-directions-and-decisions/

CFR Blackwill Grand Strategy: https://www.cfr.org/report/implementing-grand-strategy-toward-china

14:44: The “Engagement Failed” Debate- see Economy’s chapter in Aspen Strategy Group report

18:53: U.S. global leadership and strategy

23:50: U.S.-China battle for the narrative into the future

27:15: Economy’s recommendation, Wild Swans by Jung Chang- https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Wild-Swans/Jung-Chang/9780743246989