Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Leslie T. Fenwick

Dr. Leslie T. Fenwick, PhD, is Dean Emeritus of the Howard University School of Education and a tenured professor of educational policy and leadership. A former Visiting Scholar and Visiting Fellow at Harvard University, Fenwick has served as a Senior Fellow for the McDonald Character Leadership Conference at the United States Military Academy at West Point since 2017. Additionally, she is a Salzburg Global Fellow (the cohort was convened in Salzburg, Austria to examine globalization and leadership) and a member of the American cohort of university administrators invited to the University of Oxford (Exeter College) to discuss ethics and leadership. Dr. Fenwick is recipient of the WEB DuBois Award for Leadership in Higher Education which recognizes those who exemplify character leadership. 
Described as a “fearless voice” for education equity, Dr. Fenwick is a contributor to the best-selling book, The Last Word: Controversy and Commentary in American Education. Her research has been cited by the New York Times and the Center for American Progress. Additionally, her op-ed articles about education, the economy and urban development have appeared in the Washington Post, The Boston Globe, Education Week, The Huffington Post, and Diverse Issues in Higher Education. She has delivered over 150 invited keynotes and testimonies to the U.S. Senate, leading human and civil rights organizations, and at the National Press Club. 
Presently, Dr. Fenwick is a member of the Scholarly Advisory Committee for the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) – the world’s third busiest museum. A science enthusiast, Dr. Fenwick was appointed by NASA Administrator (director) General Charles Bolden to NASA’s Education and Public Outreach Committee. Dr. Fenwick earned a PhD in educational policy and leadership from The Ohio State University where she was a Flescher Fellow and a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from the University of Virginia.