EECS Cyber Hub

EECS Cyber Hub

NSA Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Operations (CAE-CO)

The Center of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity (CAE-C) designation is awarded to regionally accredited U.S. institutions of higher education that meet rigorous requirements in their commitment to producing cybersecurity professionals who will reduce vulnerabilities in our national infrastructure.

CAE designations are awarded by the joint sponsors of the program, the National Security Agency (NSA) and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).  The CAE program is partially funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and is supported by a community of CAE schools.

The United States Military Academy is pursuing the CAE in Cyber Operations (CO) during academic year 2023/2024.

CAE-CO Academic Program

The Cyber Operations concentration within the Cyber Science major has been approved by the CAE program as meeting the requirements of a CAE-CO academic program. The details of the program of study are available in the Red Book.



Cyber Science Advisory Board

The EECS department is supported by an advisory board that consists of professionals across the U.S. Army, industry, government agencies, and academia. The EECS advisory board was first chartered in 2000 and have the express purpose of advising the department on academic topics and on current trends and directions within our disciplines. The advisory board meets annually with EECS faculty and cadets to receive an update on the department, programs, assessment and accreditation, and research activities and subsequently provides insights and recommendations as part of their commitment to continuous improvement. The Cyber Science program assists in the department's selection of members who represent their stakeholders, including the U.S. Army, department graduates, graduate schools, and the national cybersecurity workforce.  The current Cyber portion of the EECS Advisory Board consists of the following individuals:

  • COL (R) John C. Giordano (Chair), USCYBERCOM Future Operations Division - DoDIN
  • Dr. Jon Bentley, Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, Bell Labs Research
  • Dr. Gregory Conti, Principal at Kopidion Cybersecurity
  • Ms. Cindy Bedell, Computational & Information Sciences, Director, U.S. Army DEVCOM, Army Research Laboratory
  • COL Ben Sangster, Deputy Commanding Officer, Cyber Operations
  • LTC Julianna Rodriguez, U.S. Cyber Command
  • Dr. Claire Cuccio, President and CEO at SNVC, Adjunct professor at University of Maryland Global Campus
  • Dr. Rajendra K Raj, Professor, Computer Science, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Brent Chapman, Security Engineering Manager at Apple 

EECS Sponsored Cybersecurity Activities Available to Cadets

Internal Cybersecurity News

External Cybersecurity News

Cybersecurity Resources for Students