Civil and Mechanical Engineering Staff and Faculty

Department Heads

​COL Bret P. VanPoppel, Ph.D

Professor and Department Head, Professor of Mechanical Engineering

COL Aaron Thomas Hill, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., PMP

Deputy Head, Professor U.S. Military Academy

Staff And Faculty

Mr. Chong Ahn

Engineering Technician

Dr. Brock E. Barry, P.E., F.ASCE

Director, Civil Engineering Division, Professor

​LTC Andy Bellocchio , Ph.D., P.E.

Director, Center for Innovation and Engineering, Academy Professor

​COL Michael Benson, Ph.D., P.E.

Director ME Division, Academy Professor/Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Elizabeth C. Bristow, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor, CE Mechanics Group Director

​COL Jakob C. Bruhl, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

Civil Engineering Program Director, Academy Professor

Dr. F. Todd Davidson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Associate Director, Center for Innovation and Engineering

Dr. Gregory Freisinger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Dynamics Systems Thread Leader

​​Dr. David Helmer, Ph.D

​​Assistant Professor, Program Manager – Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Dr. Nathaniel Helminiak, Ph.D., E.I.T.

Assistant Professor, Associate Director, Center for Innovation and Engineering

LTC Scott Katalenich

Deputy Program Director, Civil Engineering Program

Dr. J Ledlie (Led) Klosky, P.E.

Dean’s Executive Agent for Design and Construction, Professor of Civil Engineering

MAJ Mark C. Lesak

Research Scientist, Army Cyber Institute, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Thomas Matarazzo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Associate Director of High-Performance Computing, Center for Innovation and Engineering

LTC Brad McCoy, Ph.D., P.E., ENV SP

Associate Dean for Research, Academy Professor

​COL Richard Melnyk

Director, Academic Flight Program, Academy Professor / Associate Professor

​​LTC Brian Novoselich Ph.D., P.E.

USMA Director of Strategic Plans and Assessment, Automotive and Weapons Thread Director

COL Margaret Nowicki, Ph.D

​Academy Professor , Associate Professor

​Mrs. Tiffany Pettis

​Administrative Support Center for Innovation and Engineering

MAJ Ian B. Riley, P.E.

Instructor, Strategic Planner, Office of Strategic Resource Planning and Integration

Mr. Hector Serrano

Information Technology Specialist

​Mr. Corey Smith

Laboratory Technician Supervisor

Dr. Gunnar Tamm

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Rebecca Zifchock

Professor of Biomechanical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering Program Director